Review – The Grace Keepers by Kirsty Logan

thegracekeepers

 

Book description

For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

Mi review – kinda

It happened to me again, I chose The Gracekeepers mostly because of that great book cover. There was also the story of course, described as inspired by myths and fairy tales. That’s the kind of things I like in the same sentence. I was ready for this book, or I thought so.

I’m not going to do my typical review, since I didn’t finish this book. I mean, if you follow my reviews, you’ll know I normally don’t give up on books, even if they’re kind of bad books. But there are certain books I just cannot finish, even if I try, and I tried so hard with this one.

The story

I liked the idea, a circus that travels by the sea to different places. Two kinds of people, thelandlockers living on the ground and the damplings on the sea. Two different PoV’s from the two main female characters, living different lifestyles.

But suddenly everything became boring. I just couldn’t keep on reading because the story became confusing and seemed to go nowhere. There were different stories being told at the same time, but the execution failed to do it properly.

In conclusion, we got good characters but bad storytelling. I’m sorry if I’m the only one with this feeling, but as I said the last time this happened to me: life is short to read bad books, or at least books you don’t enjoy.

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply